Month: January 2017

JCSPS Annual Meeting and Change of Watch

P/C Gary Millington SN The Johnson City Country Club was the scene of a gala occasion on January 14, 2017 –  the JCSPS Annual Meeting and Change of Watch ceremony, kicking off the Squadron’s 55th year. The guests enjoyed the opportunity to catch up with old and new friends during the social hour. Commander Marc Nachman called the meeting to order at 7 PM and led the Pledge of Allegiance and the USPS Pledge. Chaplain Ed Lockett conducted the In Memoriam to recognize those who crossed the bar in 2016: Jim Kalogeros, Ken Verneuille and Don Sinn. Following the...

Read More

Report From the Commander

Message from your Squadron’s Commander- Steve Scheu Welcome to the 2017 boating year! Thanks to everybody who came out for a good dinner, fellowship and fun to welcome your new Bridge officers: Commander – Steve Scheu Executive Officer – Fred Pinney Administrative Officer – Glen Freshour Treasurer – Jimmy Carrol Secretary – Anita Remme Educational Officer – Rich Moakler These are interesting times for the Power Squadron, both locally and nationally. Did you know the average age of membership in the USPS is upper the 60’s, lower 70’s? Your squadron fits that mold, if not a little older, based on the number of previously very active members who have decided they need to back off a bit on their squadron activities. Frankly, as you can imagine, this demographic does not bode well for the long-term prospects and sustainability of your Squadron. But with your help, we can change this trend. We all need to promote and encourage the active participation of younger boaters. As I am reminded, your squadron was started by a group of active boaters in their 30’s. While yes, life is different now than it was in the 1960’s, there is really no reason why we can’t get younger boaters involved in our Squadron. In early spring you will be getting a call from a bridge member just to have a conversation about your Squadron and...

Read More

2017 Bridge

We have a new Bridge Commander                        Steve Scheu Executive Officer               Fred Pinney Administrative Officer     Glenn Freshour Secretary                             Anita Remme Treasurer                            Ellen...

Read More